Spring 2019 and Sabbatical Continues in Northwest Florida

Springtime, are we there yet? It really depends on if we are talking about the meteorological season called Spring, or the Astronomical one, more about that later.

What have I been doing with all my time during my sabbatical from facebook you ask? I am still working on designs for the project bags that I will soon offer in my Fibercrafty Storefront.  and I am so pleased with the progress I’m making on that front. I hope to have at least one completed project bag to offer up for sale by the middle of this month. I also am working on designing some stitch markers and progress keepers that I plan to make and offer for sale in my Fibercrafty shop. I also will offer the needle cozy that holds the knitting needles, both DPN and Circulars with the WIP on the needles, as well have needle and hook storage storage cases. I will write more about that later on in the month.

This fabric remnant will soon be a project bag that I will offer for sale in my #Fibercrafty storefront, handcraftermaggie.fibercrafty.com
I’ve been working on original designs for my project bag line that I will offer exclusively in my Fibercrafty shop; I hope it will be well received by the fibercrafting community.
#sewing #knitting #crochet #handcrafting

I’m busily preparing for springtime, my sabbatical from facebook happily continues and I’ve been busy and productive. I can’t believe it’s already March 2019! I hope you all are enjoying your time doing whatever it is you are doing these days. Two of my favorite holidays are this month, Mardis Gras and St Patrick’s Day! Mardi Gras is Tuesday March 5th, and St Patrick’s Day is March 17th. What are your plans for the holidays?

Today is the 2nd day of March 2019 and despite the rain and gloomy looking skies, the 75F muggy claggy breezeless weather here in northwest Florida feels more like late spring than 18 days before the Vernal Equinox, also known as the first day of spring in the Northern Hemisphere which falls on March 20, 2019.

In case you ever wondered what Vernal Equinox means, Vernal means Spring and “The word equinox comes from the Latin words for “equal night”—aequus (equal) and nox (night). On the equinox, the length of day and night is nearly equal in all parts of the world. ” Although the Vernal Equinox falls on March 20 this year, “Meteorologically speaking, the official first day of spring is March 1 (and the last is May 31). Weather scientists divide the year into quarters to make it easier to compare seasonal and monthly statistics from one year to the next. The meteorological seasons are based on annual temperature cycles rather than on the position of Earth in relation to the Sun, and they more closely follow the Gregorian calendar. Using the dates of the astronomical equinoxes and solstices for the seasons would present a statistical problem, as these dates can vary slightly each year.” (cite – 1)

Another interesting fact relating to March Equinox is that “For the first time in nearly 40 years, the spring equinox will occur on the same day as March’s Full Worm Moon. The last time that these two events landed on the same date was on March 20, 1981, though they did come close again in March 2000, separated by a span of only four hours. But that’s not all: March’s full Moon will also be a supermoon, meaning that it will be slightly larger and brighter than most of the other full Moons this year.” (cite – 1)

Read the entire article and even if you are familiar with the spring equinox, there are many fun facts and some folklore too!

Cite 1 = https://www.almanac.com/content/first-day-spring-vernal-equinox

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.